Darren Wheeler

Ali Haigh

Dave Dawson

Ron Walters

Liam Anderson

Brian Taylor

2012 5th Round Trial

Report Ken 'The Mud' O'Brien

Pics Gary Dowzall Event Gallery

A moderate but quality entry of riders contested Ixion's last championship round  at a muddy Cox's farm where four laps of ten testing sections were ridden,early or late numbers made no difference as the sections changed throughout as the event unfolded.
Darren Wheeler was best Expert piloting the gasser around for a loss of eleven marks eight of which went astray at section 10 a fairly tough sub consisting a stream crossing with slick turns.
Best youth A rider was Ben Hayes taking the 125 Gas Gas around for a loss of 22,Ben lost six of these at sub eight a downhill affair dropping into a natural spring before flicking up a bank and dropping back into a marshy straight before a tough exit up a muddy climb.
On the Standard white road neighbouring farmer Ali Haigh put a good effort in to lift best Clubman award although section five took seven of his tally of ten this wasn't as easy as it looked a long twisting job with lots of slippy roots to cross and a cambered turn before the ends.
Section one observed by Tom Mitson took marks all-day a forty yard drop to a long grassed meadow with a sharp turn at the bottom before blasting up to the wet sandy climb many riders selecting forth gear.  
Best Twinshock was Dave Dawson down from the Midland centre guiding his trusty Fantic around for a creditable twenty two whilst pre race favourite and travelling companion Steve Thompson had to settle for a DNF after machine gremlins struck the Scorpa early on.
New Ixion club member Graham Walsh 250 Gas Gas aced the Novice class with a loss of eighty four but enjoyed the muddy sections on offer today.
Once again Kevin McCullagh was top dog on the Blue eased route although had to take a steadying dab on section four an uphill camber to a large Oak Tree before dropping down an awkward camber.
Local Electrical contractor Ron Walters was looking good until disaster struck at section eight second visit when for no reason the Beta snuffed out on the flat Ron's loss for the day was seven but will have to wait another day to get one over KP.
All in all everyone  enjoyed the challenge of the wet sections in these days of drought.


Red Route

Expert Darren Wheeler GasGAs 11
Youth A Ben Hayes GasGas 22
White Route
Clubman Ali Haigh Beta 290 10

Alan Taylor Scorpa 250 22
Twinshock Dave Dawson Fantic 22

Blue Route
Kevin McCullagh Montesa 250 6

Ron Walters Beta 250 7
Youth B
Liam Anderson Beta 80 13
Marting Jones Beta 250 35

Full results can be found here .

Final Club Championship Results




Red Route



Darren Wheeler

2nd Rob Faulkner

3rd Justin Heavens
4th Mark Howkins 290
Youth A 1st Ben Hayes
White Route

1st Alan Taylor
2nd Barry Ward 373

3rd Gordon Pusey

Mick Metcalfe
Youth A
1st Alec Resek
Blue Route

1st Derek Dodds

2nd Rob Lewis

Stuart Heyes

4th Brian Taylor
5th Martin Watkins 363
Youth 1st Ryan Harris 396
2nd Alicia Robinson 298